Inertia: the mother of stagnation

In physics, inertia is defined as the tendency of an object at rest to remain at rest. The concept goes back to the times of Galileo and Newton. Yes, inertia has been around for a while, but it also applies to everyday life today. For example, just like any other object, a human body at rest also tends to remain at rest. And lately, that is the way my body has been when it comes to getting out and taking pictures. I just haven’t been able to overcome my inertia to get out. I’ve had a million excuses: too busy, poor weather, too tired, blah, blah, blah. All excuses aside, I was feeling stagnant because I was allowing inertia to dictate the pace of my photography.

Earlier this week, I finally forced myself to get out. I live near the Smokies so you wouldn’t think it would be that difficult for me, especially with locations like Clingmans Dome, the highest point in the Smokies. However, when the sun rises at 6:20 am, that means a 3:30 am wake-up call for me to get to Clingmans Dome in time for first light. So, when my alarm went off Wednesday morning, that inertia thing didn’t seem so bad! My body was at rest, and it definitely wanted to remain at rest. But I kicked my butt out of bed and made it. I overcame inertia. The sunrise was quite lovely—nothing off the charts—but quite lovely. It was windy and cold and the clouds were rolling over the top of Clingmans Dome at 40+ miles/hour. The cloud ceiling was only a couple of hundred feet above me. My stagnation ended immediately.

So, enjoy the image I created from that morning. It is not the best image I’ve ever created at Clingmans, but that is not the point. No, in this case, it is not about the image, it is about the effort. I can’t believe I just said that! Now, use it as inspiration to overcome your own inertia and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

