Acclimatization

 

One week ago today I returned from my trip to Siberia. I’ve been really busy processing images. I’ve also been catching up at work and catching up with family and friends. Basically, I’ve been acclimatizing: getting used to being back and living my life here in East Tennessee. Sometimes it is difficult to return from a trip, especially when it was a big one like Siberia. In this case, although I would have loved to stay away longer, experience more adventures, and take more pictures, I was excited to return home and share my experiences.

untitled-1

I’m still waking up in the middle of the night, which you might think is due to jet lag. After all, the time difference between East Tennessee and Siberia is 13 hours. But I think my sleeplessness is due to more than just that. This trip was rewarding in so many ways. I can’t stop thinking about it, especially as I have worked on the images and shared them with friends. In addition to a creative outlet, photography also serves as a way for me to relive the adventure. So I’ve been reliving this one a lot and I think part of my sleeplessness is simply due to the sheer excitement of having completed a great trip. I blame that on the kid that still lives inside me!

In addition to the life-altering adventures from this trip, the photographic opportunities were phenomenal and I really like my images. Soon, I’ll add a collection of images from Siberia to my website. Of course, I’ll be sure to let you know when that happens. Until then, please enjoy a couple of my favorite images from the trip. And wish me luck with my acclimatization!!

 
untitled-2

Leave a Reply

