It’s Done!

The UT Solar Eclipse Workshop is done! And what a great turn out we had! There were more than 45 eclipse photographers in attendance. It was a great group with lots of questions and discussion. The workshop started at 9:30 am and went a little past our scheduled end time of 3:30. We talked about the sun, the moon, and the reasons behind a solar eclipse. We covered how to view it safely and we even talked a little about a couple of noteworthy eclipses in history. Most importantly, we discussed how to photograph it. There are a surprisingly large number of options when comes to photographing an eclipse. It is a little daunting. I hope the workshop helped everyone understand the possibilities! In general, successful photography requires planning and practice, but that is especially the case when it comes to eclipse photography, so I hope everyone who attended has a better idea of the challenge that lies ahead of us and has a chance get some practice in before the big day.

We had the special honor of a personal visit from a renowned eclipse educator and award-winning author, Professor Mark Littmann, who is on the faculty here at UT. Professor Littmann co-authored the recent book, “Totality,” which I used to prepare for this workshop and which I highly recommend as a resource to learn more about the eclipse.

In addition to “Totality,” another book that I highly recommend is an electronic entitled, “How to Photograph the Solar Eclipse,” by Alan Dyer. Without a doubt, this e-book is the most comprehensive resource I’ve seen (and I’ve seen a lot!) on this subject of solar eclipse photography. I highly recommend it also.

I had the privilege of personally communicating with both Professor Littmann and Alan before the class and I really learned a lot from them both. Thanks to them both!

With the workshop behind me, it is time to move on to the next thing on my list: a three week trip to Alaska for a workshop with the incomparable Marc Adamus. It promises to be one of my most amazing adventures yet, but I have to admit that the timing of the trip just after my own workshop and just before the eclipse is a bit of a challenge for me. I am just starting to organize my gear for Alaska and my flight leaves in a little more than 48 hours. Yikes! I had better get busy!

So you won’t hear anything from me for a while. I’ll look forward to sharing a full report upon my return. In the meantime, make sure to continue your plans for the eclipse. After talking about it all day yesterday in the workshop, I’m even more jazzed about it now than ever!

I wish I had some new images to share with you, but not this time. Instead, check out the rig I’m planning to shoot the eclipse with when I get back from Alaska!

my gear-FB

2 comments

Leave a Reply

