A Photograph Speaks a Thousand Words

We hear that phrase all the time and it is true. The image I’m including here is a powerful example of that. In one square that is 700 pixels on a side, this image quickly and completely describes the loss suffered by the Gatlinburg area. Please note: this is NOT my image (thanks, BMZ!). I don’t like using images without permission, but this one gripped me so much that I had to share it. You may have already seen it elsewhere on Facebook. I don’t know the source of it, but would like to know so I can thank the person who created it. Please share with me if you know the source of the image.
The news today continues to improve. It has rained here in Knoxville for most of the day. As I went to bed last night about midnight, rain began falling just as I started off to sleep, but the mere sound of it hitting my roof was so exciting that I stayed up to check some of my weather apps to see if any of the rain had reached the Smokies and the Gatlinburg area. I was glad to see that rain would soon arrive to help those devastated areas. Tonight, the local weather reports that we received about 5 inches of rain here and that the Gatlinburg area received almost 2 inches. What a relief!
The relief efforts seem to be firmly established. There are drop off locations here in Knoxville for people to drop off supplies and donations. The local news has provided tons of information to help coordinate the outpouring of help. It is amazing to see how quickly people can come together and help each other in times of need!
gatlinburgsigns-fb

Leave a Reply

